Adjusting and colour coding.

Being on maternity leave means that my work calendar has “unavailable” or “out of the office” for the next while. So life just got simpler, right?

Hmm… life is certainly simpler, but not necessarily less busy.

My new routine and my personal calendar are filling in quickly. I seem to be adjusting nicely… despite a few little hiccups here and there (A vivid image of myself from last week comes to mind – Me, with baby in my arms and pulling Meaghan by the hand, running, late to pick up Layla from school! The teacher looked at my frazzled self with real pity in his eyes… sigh…).

This week I decided that it was officially time for me to go out and buy a “family calendar” to keep track of all the coming and going in our home.

Here’s a shot of this week. It may seem a little archaic to those of you with iPhones or even simply using a computer program like outlook, but I went out and bought an agenda. An you know what? It was a real pleasure to write it all down by hand and start colour coding our different activities, events and responsibilities. And by pleasure I am saying that I totally enjoyed this – must be the organizer in me or something!

The family planner is a small part of my goal to be more intentional in my role at home while I’m on leave. My hope is that by writing it all down, I’ll be more likely to schedule things in – whether it’s coffee with a friend, my exercise class or planning meals and changing the beds! And more importantly, more likely to get it all done!

A.

Leave a Reply

