In my lifetime, I want to…

The “bucket list” became a common term in popular culture after the release of the film “The Bucket List” in 2007. That being said, the concept of such a list isn’t new at all.

We all have things we’d like to do or experience in our lifetimes. The older we get, the faster life seems… and (I would argue) the more likely we are to allow responsibility and busyness to build a barrier between us and “life”.  For some of us, it’s easy to live life to the fullest and jump on crazy opportunities. For others… we need a list, one that we can come back to and modify if need be, but one that gives us goals (that can be checked off one by one!).

I’d like to think that I personally fall somewhere in between the spectrum of spontaneous and list-driven… and that for me, a list, and more specifically a “bucket list”, is a way to organize my thoughts and really think about the things I’d like to do, see, accomplish… experience… during this life of mine.

When I announced my little Ten30 project last February, I didn’t have an actual list… and to be honest, some months, it was hard to think of something NEW to do. Still – by consciously deciding to do one new thing each month until my 30th birthday, I feel that my Ten30 added substantially to my year. It was fun to talk about, I did some pretty neat things, and sometimes, I even pushed my limits a little. Or a lot.

And now, with my 30th birthday just a few short days away, and then end of my montly “new” stuff – the timing couldn’t be better for this contest (see information below)… and I’m loving the idea of jotting down 15 things for my personal bucket list.

So here goes…

  1. Be the kind of mom that my girls like and want to spend time with
  2. Stay happily married to the same man until it’s all said and done.
  3. Exercise regularly for a year
  4. Go skydiving
  5. Do a horseback/camping trek with Brandon somewhere really cool
  6. Go on a cruise
  7. Go back to Tanzania with Brandon and the girls (and climb Kilimanjaro again or go on a safari)
  8. Take dancing lessons
  9. Live in another country for 6 months to a year
  10. Get a tattoo that means something to me
  11. Volunteer for a disaster relief effort at least once
  12. Read the entire Bible
  13. Go to a musical in New York City
  14. Take singing lessons
  15. Do a triathlon

This is my entry in the Just Ask Bucket List Getaway Giveaway. Just Ask offers a breast and ovarian cancer screening and is encouraging people to share 15 things that I want to enjoy in my lifetime as a reminder to be aware of my health. Want to enter? Head over to TodaysMama.com to get the details.

2 thoughts on “In my lifetime, I want to…

Leave a Reply

