…and a half…

My girls were both born in April and so at some point in October they both hit their official “half” year. We haven’t made 1/2 year birthdays a thing in our house… yet. I’m secretly thinking that it might be fun family tradition for the girls (and me!) as long as we keep it very very simple.

Layla is now four and half and Meaghan will soon be a full two and half years old. Already…? Only…? Where did the time go…? It seems like we’ve had them longer…?

Anyways…

This afternoon I took them both to their first indoor swimming lesson. Layla is on her own with the instructors – and I’m blown away by how capable she is to be “on her own”. Meaghan and I splashed around in the water together – and I was so proud of her strong kicking feet and ability to follow me around with nothing but a pool noodle for support. They both seem so big, so brave…

My heart swells with love… with pride… with a mix of hope and fear…

Of course this reaction of mine has little to do with the actual 30-minutes in the pool and more to do with the bigger picture and how I feel as I watch them grow, change, develop and learn.

  •  When they say things and I know they’re repeating something I said or something I taught them (both good and bad!)…
  • When Layla teaches Meaghan how to do something…
  • When Meaghan eats all MY favorite foods (!)
  • When I take them with me for a “big girl” lunch in the cafeteria at work…
  • When Layla talks about her “amoureux” (ie. boyfriend) at daycare…
  • When Meaghan colours a specific object on the page instead of just scribbling…
  • When they ask questions that seem way ahead of their time…
  • When Layla wears my black high heel boots around the house…
  • When Meaghan cups my face in her little hands…

…and of course…

  • When they tell me they love me SO MUCH.

My heart swells with love… with pride… with a mix of hope and fear…

A.

Leave a Reply

