Ten30: on the water to way up up up!

Hard to believe it’s already October.

In less than 20 days I will hit the big three-0h. With all my monthly activities, the lead up is making this a much bigger deal than it probably should be. However, while thirty might not be old… the closer I get to it, the more I feel like it’s a true transition age. I know myself better, I’ve got quite the decade (or 3) under my belt and I’m excited about the future. Truly.

I never got around to writing about it, but I really enjoyed my first time sailing in August. A huge thank you to my colleague and friend Magalie and her Dad for taking me out on their catamaran for a couple of hours.

I’ve always loved being near or on the water and this time was no different. It was a gorgeous day and I learned to steer the catamaran (focus on a point in the distance…focus.). Magalie’s dad told me I was good at steering – and apparently he doesn’t say that to just anyone. cool.

September was a little bit more… scary… and crazy … and fun.

A little more than a month ago, Mags (yeah, the same gal I went sailing with – and the first one on the left above) forwarded a link to a video with the CN Tower’s newest “attraction” with the subject heading “Ten30?”. The first time I watched the video my palms were sweating, but within the week Izzy (2nd from the left) and I were talking fairly seriously about a girly weekend trip to Toronto that would include our very own edgewalk experience. After getting Magalie to commit and recruiting Sara (all the way on the right) the four of us started planning our weekend.

I haven’t been away with just “the girls” in what seems like forever. The last several years have kept me busy with my own (baby) girls, sure; but the fact that a lot of my girlfriends are from different areas and/or times of my life also makes it a little more complicated to plan a group trip.  Whatever the reason… I was DUE… and it was GREAT.

It was a true road trip… singing, bad food, secret sharing, toilet humour and much much more. And much that I am not at liberty to discuss (!).

During this fantastic road trip I actually experienced TWO new things. (1) the CN tower edgewalk and (2) visiting Niagara Falls, Ontario.  I finally made up for missing my TEN30 in June. Fantastic. Can I also add here, with a certain measure of pride, that I was told afterwards that I’m one of the best people to travel with? That seriously made my day! 🙂

In the weeks leading up to our trip, I stressed about the CN tower edgewalk. How will I react? What if I can’t do it? What if (worse!) I pee my pants?! Will it fall on someone below? (Don’t laugh, having never been to the CN Tower I was genuinely concerned for the Torontonians walking down there!). In the actual week before we left, I completely calmed down… it just didn’t seem real I guess. The “freak out” came back as I stepped in to the elevator in my red jumpsuit (after a serious giggle fit in the bathroom less than 30 minutes earlier – ohmygoodness). As the elevator went up, I couldn’t force myself to look out. WHAT AM I DOING? and ahem more importantly… WHY?

They had just finished telling us that only 4 people have backed out of doing the edgewalk since they opened the attraction this past summer. All four of them being GUYS. My friends encouraged me NOT to be the first girl to back out. And I’m honestly glad I didn’t. I would have totally regretted it and it WAS pretty surreal… and definitely like nothing I’ve ever done before.

As I stepped out onto the edgewalk “walkway” (which, my fellow Montrealers, is much too similar to the victoria bridge!) I tried to keep my focus FAR away in the distance… with my knees slightly bent and a kind of hysterical/nervous smile and laugh (and still asking myself WHY I was doing this).

Before I could get my bearings, our lovely guide “Daffy” (who by the way, had one of the most funky/awesome personalities ever) told us it was time to do our first challenge toes over Toronto. I didn’t think I would be able to put one foot in front of the other, let alone put my toes over the edge of the walkway… but when my turn came, I played along and just did it. EEEK.

After seeing the people hanging backwards off the edge on Youtube videos, I wasn’t expecting the next challenge to come so quickly (ha…for some reason I thought they’d give you a chance to “get used” being up so high first). But, you are only up there for 30 minutes,  so they don’t waste any time! Before I knew what I was doing, I was leaning back off the edge of the CNtower. Crazy, right? Definitely. I only looked DOWN once. EEEK.

Soon after that, Daffy walked us through what she called “Titanic auditions” and had us leaning forward off the edge. One would think that this was more difficult or scary than hanging backwards… and ONE would be WRONG. Seriously wrong. Maybe it has something to do with the fact that your two feet are still completely on the walkway – even though your body is angled enough to be hanging over it? I don’t know…. but EEEK (again!)

And after that (and now that I was finally starting to feel more comfortable/confident up there), the time flew right by. We went back to backwards for our personal pictures (seen above) and then had just a few moments left to take in the view before it was time to head back in… and DOWN.

So all in all, the edgewalk was scary, but cool. I never felt like I was in danger, but it was hard for me to get over the idea of being so high up – without a barrier between me and… below. I am now convinced that I could never (ever) bungee jump. never. I didn’t know that I was actually scared of heights… but I guess I am (at least heights like that!). Now… will I manage to face my fear (ahem… phobia) of needles in October? With a tattoo or a piercing perhaps? Maybe. We’ll see.

…Maybe…

A.

Leave a Reply

