I don’t WANT to give up…

I’m sad.

This past May I decided to start running. I went to have my stride evaluated. I found some good shoes for a bargain and purchased an app for my iPod that provided me with a great program to ease me in, and get me running, gently.

Now, in the middle of my sixth week of the program, I’m on hold. My left hip has been hurting a lot for the last ten days or so… and at first I thought it would go away on its own (you know… the uneducated theory of keep the muscles warm and moving and they’ll adjust…), but it doesn’t really seem to be working and I’m starting to be concerned that I’m going to hurt myself for real.

In the absence of my ortho doctor b.i.l, I’ve been looking for answers online. The trusty internet has thrown a series of diagnosis my way… the two most popular being bursitis, or overstrain in the tensor facia lata. The most popular treatment being — rest.

So, I’m sad. I’m sad because I don’t want to give up.

  • I feel like 5 K is a very reasonable goal.
  • I want to see this program through and reach my goal.
  • I’m so close (8 runs or so to go).
  • Despite having to re-run a couple of weeks because of my crazy workload back in June, I haven’t cheated on my runs – and I’m proud of that.
  • I’m not getting any skinnier here (or fatter thank goodness).

and…

  • I just don’t want to say/admit that I can’t do it.

So now what?

Sigh.

Leave a Reply

