No Such Thing as Supermom (2)

Last week I started writing on my opinion that there is no such thing as a “supermom”… and talked about coping mechanisms that can help some of us trick people into thinking that just maybe we have it all (or mostly) together (My theory is that it’s a nice mix of support, motivation and excellent time creation management skills).

This week… I’m writing more about…

…the right motivation.

Whether I’m trying to shed a few extra pounds, exercise more regularly, better organize my home or take on some new personal project, I find that I am both more driven and more successful when I have the right motivation.

Finding the right motivation isn’t always easy for me… and it most certainly isn’t found in the same place for every type of thing or for everyone. Think about it. Our realities are as different as we are individually. And as individuals we are constantly growing and changing, influenced by our surroundings, our support systems and our vision(s) of the world. Suffice to say, I just don’t think that there’s a cookie cutter answer here. Sorry.

I swear that sometimes it is as simple (or complex) as a a switch in my brain that just needs to “click”. Sometimes. Most of the time, it’s more complicated than that. Or not… I’m sure you’ve heard the saying “do what you love, love what you do”.

Do what you love – I’ve noticed that in general, people are much better at doing the things that they love doing… and  love to do the things that they’re good at doing (and make them feel good). This observation isn’t new or original. In fact, there is a lot of literature out there that points to the fact that some of the most successful people in the world  are living out their top passions on a regular (and often daily) basis.

Maybe you’re not completely clear on what it is that you are passionate about. I’m kind of like that – I have such trouble focusing my dreams. So in this moment, this next “motivation” works better for me.

Love what you do.  It’s important to find what it is that I love about what I’m already doing (which also helps me continue practicing gratitude of course!). When all of my cards are not necessarily in order, its relatively easy to take stock and identify the positive in what I’m doing, working towards or contributing to. Do I enjoy it? Is it good for me (physically or emotionally)?  Is it good for my family? Does it give me something I want or need? Does it give me an opportunity to do something fundamentally good (Be the change…)?

A good example for me right now: Running.  Okay, so I realize that I’m not going to change the world by training to run at least 5K without stopping ( though I may inspire a few to join me in the challenge) but that’s not why I do it. Running doesn’t come naturally to me (at all), but I find that I actually enjoy the 30+ minute challenge of getting outside on my own and knowing that I’m doing something that is good for me. So despite the little voice telling me to stay home, relax… have a glass of wine… I continue to lace up my running shoes and turn on the Get Running App as I walk out the front door. I may not get out quite as often as I would like, but I’m far from giving up. And I haven’t cheated yet. 4 weeks to go.

Find (MAKE) the time to do what you love and love what you do…

More about time management next time!

2 thoughts on “No Such Thing as Supermom (2)

Leave a Reply

