Girls night out

This past Saturday I had my first real girls night out in a really long time. It came about after a flopped attempt to throw a birthday party for one of my colleagues’ 30th birthdays (Happy Bday Izzy!). Some of us still wanted to do something… and that something quickly created a buzz around the office. I work in Communications… so it goes without saying that there are a lot of young women (and young moms) working in my department.

Reservations were made at the Kabana Restaurant and Bar  – a trendy “Supper Club” on the South Shore of Montreal for 9 p.m. (after the kids were in bed).

With eight of us confirmed, I know I don’t just speak for myself when I say that I was so excited to get dolled up, go out and get down on the dance floor!

Despite the pricey drinks and the fact that the music was a little too loud and not particularly conducive to girl talk/dinner conversation, the atmosphere at Kabana was amazing, the food was excellent and it was great to go from dinner to dancing without changing locations. I wouldn’t take my review too literally though – you have to keep in mind that I don’t get “out” all that much (well… certainly not like that).

I had a great time. The expression “seize the day” comes to mind when I think of the slightly excessive number of drinks, the joking and dance moves once dinner was done… and feeling young and even kind of sexy as I danced and laughed away the stress from the past week (and month… and season…). And despite the fact that my legs we sore and achy from dancing in heals until past 2 a.m. (yes… and thank you B for letting me sleep in a little!) – I’d do it again.

It also turns out that I’m quite entertaining. Or so people say. I choose to take it as a compliment because I know that it’s  because I make people  smile and laugh. (Let me be specific here, I make girls laugh. Boys just don’t find me as funny.) Still… whether it is sometimes with me and sometimes at me… I think that it’s a pretty good thing.

My colleagues now know that if they want to get me talking (or singing) – red wine works very well.  They also know that I have some pretty crazy (or awesome!) dance moves.

2 thoughts on “Girls night out

  1. You do have some awesome moves Andrea and this night would not have been as entertaining, nice and fun without you!

Leave a Reply

