Should’ve.Would’ve.Could’ve

Hind sight is 20-20 isn’t it? The car you sold. The one you bought to replace it. The decisions to buy a home, take a job, go further in school… or not.

The should’ves, could’ves and would’ves of life are NOT real life. I know that… in my head. Sometimes my heart takes longer to learn.

There are decisions I’ve made that I’ll never regret. But there are probably an equal number of decisions that I made based on what I knew at the time… that I would change if I had things to do over again. But that’s life isn’t it? We live. We learn. We live. We learn. We live…

At a recent function I found myself face to face with university students nearing the end of their degrees and offering them my “free” advice. Telling them what I wish someone had told me years ago when I jumped on my first opportunity for a real job (what someone may have told me… but I may have not been listening…).

“If you want to finish school or do more school. do it… If you want to take time off and travel or volunteer abroad, do it… Working full-time and studying part-time are NOT the same as the opposite…. You may think that this is your chance… maybe even that other opportunities won’t come, but you’re young and they will.”

Um… since when did I become old enough to give advice? I don’t know that I actually am. But I wish I knew 7 or 8 years ago what I know today. I wish I had been a little more patient and a little more willing to live with uncertainty in my young adult life.  Come to think of it, I still kind of wish the same thing… that I might be more patient and willing to live with uncertainty in my (still) young adult life.

A.

Leave a Reply

