Every weekend should be a long weekend

Unless the only things you care about in your life are work and money – I’m positive you’ll agree with me when I say that every weekend should be a long weekend… though I suppose it is possible that if every weekend were a day or two longer, we’d get used to it and have less appreciation for it (maybe…).

apple blossoms The past few days have been incredible… because we had time, because we had beautiful weather, because we were productive, because we had funActually, it reminded me a lot of the summer of 2009. I was on maternity leave with Meg.  We  lived day-to-day, getting little things done around home and enjoying one another. By most people’s standards (even my own) we  didn’t do anything particularly phenomenal or exciting, but I can say without a doubt that it was one of the best summers of my life. Being home and simply living – with my girls and my husband – was wonderful.

Why is it that I can have such big ideas about what will make me happy – seeking out adventure, interesting projects and a sense of accomplishment – but when it comes down to it, it’s the simple things that really bring joy into my life?

I started this weekend feeling down and tired (among other things…). A few days later – after spending intimate quality time with my family, doing  yardwork, reading some really interesting articles (Chatelaine and the Gazette), taking the time to paint my toenails, kicking of my “running” program, and resolving to only drink wine on the weekends and when we have company (!) – I feel oddly refreshed… and hopeful of good things to come. 

Was it the long weekend? Was it the sun finally shining down on us? Was it feeling loved by my nearest and dearest? Was it something completely unrelated? Whatever it was, I want to capture this feeling in a bottle so that I can drink it up when I start to feel down again.

A.

2 thoughts on “Every weekend should be a long weekend

Leave a Reply

